Lakas endorsement to backfire on prospects -- Lacson

Lakas endorsement to backfire on prospects - Lacson
06/03/2008 | 05:14 PM

MANILA, Philippines - An endorsement from the ruling Lakas party or any ally of President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo is a “kiss of death” and may actually backfire on the beneficiary, opposition Senator Panfilo Lacson warned Tuesday.

Lacson said President Arroyo's endorsement will shoot down the political chances of a candidate and seriously jeopardize those with a good chance of winning.

“Oras na tinaaas ang kamay nila ni Mrs Arroyo, ubos ang kanilang opportunity na manalo (The moment Mrs Arroyo raises their hands, their political career is doomed),” he said.

Lacson’s warning came a day after Lakas bared its initial list of senatorial candidates for the 2010 elections. The list includes former and incumbent senators and congressmen, Cabinet secretaries, showbiz personalities, and local government officials.

Lacson advised those in the list to seriously consider their options.

“So dapat sa ngayon pa lang dahil kinokonsidera sila, pagisipan nilang mabuti paano nila ira-run ang campaign na walang malinaw na endorsement ng pangulo (So those being mentioned by Lakas should now consider their lot very, very carefully),” he said.

Leading the Lakas list are re-electionist Senators Juan Ponce Enrile, Richard Gordon, Lito Lapid, Ramon 'Bong’ Revilla Jr, and Miriam Defensor Santiago.

Aside from Lapid and Revilla, other celebrities in the long list are Batangas Gov. Vilma Santos, beauty queen Margie Moran Floirendo, Optical Media Board Chairman Edu Manzano, movie actress Dawn Zulueta, and TV host Tito Sotto.

Also in the list are Reps Ruffy Biazon (Muntinlupa), Mark Cojuangco (Pangasinan), Jack Duavit (Rizal), Monico Fuentevella (Bacolod), Neptali Gonzales Jr (Mandaluyong), Abraham Mitra (Palawan), Ferdinand Marcos Jr. (Ilocos Norte), Martin Romualdez (Leyte), Rene Velarde (Buhay), Ed Zialcita (Las Pinas) and former Speaker Jose de Venecia Jr

The Cabinet secretaries who are eyeing a seat in the Senate are Environment Sec. Lito Atienza, Press Secretary Jess Dureza, Health Secretary Francisco Duque, Education Sec. Jesli Lapus, Agrarian Reform Sec. Nasser Pangandaman, Local Government Sec. Ronnie Puno, Energy Sec. Angelo Reyes, Defense Sec. Gilberto Teodoro, Agriculture Sec. Arthur Yap, Immigration Commissioner Marcelino Libanan, and GSIS General Manager Winston Garcia.

Also considered as strong contenders who are Surigao del Norte Gov. Ace Barbers, Cebu Gov. Gwen Garcia, Davao del Norte Norte Gov. Rodolfo del Rosario, Camarines Sur Gov. Elray Villafuerte, Cebu Mayor Tommy Osmena, Quezon City Mayor Sonny Belmonte, and Marikina Mayor Marides Fernando.

To complete the long list are ex-Rep. Prospero Pichay, former presidential spokesman Mike Defensor, former Senators Ralph Recto and Sonny Alvarez.

The list was bared in a statement by House Speaker Prospero Nograles Jr, the Lakas party president. - with report from Fidel Jimenez, GMANews.TV

No comments: