Skip to main content

LP senatorial candidates


I do not know this guy but I just got this while surfing the Internet today. This is interesting, but let me reiterate that I am not a member of the Liberal party -- or of any other political party. If I am rating well in the senatorial surveys -- as some political operators claim when they talk to me -- that is their opinion and not mine.

Thanks, anyway, for visayan bloggers for thinking I am worthy of being in this slate.


Below are the people being considered as 2010 senatorial candidates for the Liberal Party (LP). I repeat, the people below are still being considered and are still not the final bets of LP, as what the LP-Atienza wing tries to claim.

Cavite Rep. Joseph Emilio Aguinaldo Abaya, who was tasked by LP chairman former Sen. Franklin Drilon, to head the party’s Electoral Preparatory Committee, listed down the following potential “senatoriables”:

1. Former Senator Franklin Drilon
2. Former Agriculture Secretary Florencio “Butch” Abad
3. Muntinlupa Rep. Rozanno Rufino “Ruffy” Biazon
4. Quezon Rep. Erin Tanada
5. Former Bukidnon Rep. Neric Acosta
6. Naga Mayor Jesse Robredo
7. Isabela Gov. Grace Padaca
8. Pampanga Gov. Ed Panlilio
9. TV personality Cory Quirino

In my own opinion, they should also include Prof. Danton Remoto and former Genuine Opposition Spokesperson Adel Tamano. I know they’re not members of LP, but I believe they can be adopted by the party.

I wonder who would be Senator Roxas’ candidate for Vice-President? Would it be Senator Noynoy Aquino or bSenator Francis Pangilinan?

How about you? Who do you think should be included in the vetting process for senatorial candidates of LP


collinfongjr said…
I prefer LP-NP-NPC-PMP-UNO-PRP-PDP-Laban Coalition
Manny Villar for President
Mar Roxas for Vice President

Senatorial Line Ups

Sen. Jinggoy Estrada
Sen. Miriam Santiago
Sen. Franklin Drilon
Rep. Rozanno Rufino “Ruffy” Biazon
Isabela Gov. Grace Padaca
Senate President Juan Ponce Enrile
Sen. Jamby Madrigal
Atty. Koko Pimentel
Makati Mayor Jejomar Binay
Atty. Adel Tamano
Sec. Lito Atienza
Cory Quirino
Kevin Ray said…
Hi the Prof. Danton!

Actually, VisayasBloggers.Com is an aggregator site of all blogs in the Visayas and my blog is one of them.

You can read the original post in


Popular posts from this blog

The Heart of Summer, a short story

On the first day of April, we moved to a row house in a subdivision carved out of the Antipolo hills. A row house is a nice word for houses that somehow managed to fit into 120-square-meter lots. They looked like matchboxes, really, built near the riverbank. The larger houses, of course, stood grandly at the center of the village, in front of the chapel. We’d be renting the house from the mayor’s mistress, one of three houses she owned there.

The living room of the house spilled over into the kitchen. The house only had two tiny rooms, but it was enough for us. The owner of the apartment we had been renting in Project 4 wrote to us (in pink stationery with the letterhead “Dr. Antonina Raquiza, Ph. D.”) to say that she’d raise the monthly rent to five thousand. If we couldn’t agree to her new terms, we’d have two months to leave. Mama glared at the letter, then said something obscene about our landlady’s father. A day later, she began poring over the ads, looking for cheaper rent in …

A teacher's tales

by Danton Remoto
Remote Control

I’ve been teaching for 22 years – the longest job I’ve had. This will be my last year of teaching. I will take sabbatical leave beginning April 2009 – a paid leave for one year that senior professors take every seven years, to sleep the sleep of the and come back to school fully energized. But in my case, I will not just sleep and read and gain weight. I will spend my sabbatical leave organizing Ang Ladlad’s campaign, and my own political campaign, for the May 2010 elections.

But because I stayed here longest, that means I love this job. I admire those who’ve spent 30, 40 years teaching without repeating themselves. They’ve taught for 30, 40 different years, not just one year repeated 30, 40 times. Teachers like the now-departed Dr. Doreen G. Fernandez and the retired, but still teaching, Professor Emmanuel “Eric” Torres come to mind. Both have taught with us at the English Department of the Ateneo de Manila University.

Doreen and Eric …

Review of "Pulotgata" The Love Poems"

This is a review of my book that I just read in the Internet today. It was written by Ralph Semino Galan of UST and was published in the Inquirer. It comes in two parts.

Honeymooning with Words, Part I
by Ralph Semino Galan

Love is a favorite subject among Filipino poets, regardless of gender. For despite the influx of modern and postmodern ideologies, the pervasive influence of the Romantic spirit is still prevalent in Philippine literature, especially in poetry. It therefore comes as no surprise that even a gay-identified writer like Danton Remoto has composed extensively verses expressing the intricacies of love and lust, desire and devotion, passion and compassion.

In his third book of poetry aptly titled "Pulotgata: The Love Poems" (Pasig City: Anvil Publishing, Inc, 2004, 88 pages), Remoto delves the depths of the human heart through lyrics in English and Filipino that sing of the anxiety and the excitement, the agony and the ecstasy which accompany the act of love.

The …