Leftist congressmen eyeing Senate seats in 2010

Written by Carmela Fonbuena
Thursday, 16 April 2009

Confident of their three million core supporters, four congressmen from leftist party list groups on Thursday announced plans to seek Senate seats in 2010.

Bayan Muna representatives Satur Ocampo and Teodoro Casiño, Gabriela Rep. Liza Maza, and Anakpawis Rep. Rafael Mariano said they may opt to join the senatorial slate of a presidential candidate.

Ocampo and Maza are on their third and last term in Congress.

Former President Estrada earlier announced that Casiño may be included in the opposition's senatorial slate.

Ocampo said they are talking to several possible presidential candidates and their parties for possible inclusion in their senatorial tickets.

The leftist party-list groups also launched a new political coalition, Makabayang Koalisyon ng Mamamayan or MAKABAYAN.

Aside from national positions, the group will also field candidates in the local elections. (abs-cbnNEWS.com/Newsbreak)

No comments: